Demo: Florence Price: Symphony No. 3 in c minor

August 21, 2023

Florence Price's Symphony No. 3 was commissioned by the Works Progress Administration's Federal Music Project during the height of the Great Depression. It was first performed at the Detroit Institute of Arts on November 6, 1940, by the Detroit Civic Orchestra under the conductor Valter Poole.

The composition is Price's third symphony, following her Symphony in E minor—the first symphony by a black woman to be performed by a major American orchestra—and her lost Symphony No. 2.

Florence Price's Symphony No.3 was first performed on November 6th, 1940. It was Ms. Price's third symphony, following her lost Symphony No. 2

1111 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN 55403
United States

More information

View full calendar