VLAFF is pleased to host a live streamed deliberation in Spanish with three Latin American film critics to choose
the winner of the New Directors Award.

Public deliberation, Sunday, Sept 5th. 1:00pm (Vancouver time).
VLAFF Facebook Live

For a long time the method of how prizes are awarded in the arts has been a much debated topic. We hope that this exercise will contribute to a greater transparency in how prizes are awarded, as well as for the public to learn more about the work of film critics and to view the films in discussion from new perspectives.

Carolina Urrutia Neno has a PhD in Philosophy and is a teaching assistant at the School of Audiovisual Creation in the Catholic University of Chile. Carolina is the director of the film magazine LaFuga and is the author of the book Un cine centrífugo. Ficciones chilenas 2005 a 2010 (Cuarto propio, 2013) and co-author of Bordes de lo real en la ficción (Metales pesados, 2020). She is currently developing an in-depth research project on Latin American cinema.

Sergio Raúl López is a Mexican film and cultural journalist, as well as an editor. He has a long experience in covering film festivals in Mexico. From 2008 to 2017 he was the co-director of Cine Toma, the only film magazine to specialize in Mexican cinema. He has worked and written for a large number of Mexican media outlets, such as Reforma, El Financiero, Caras, Chilango, etc. He has also taught cultural journalism in many schools. He currently writes for La Jornada and is working on a book about the Mexican filmmaker Amat Escalante.

Astrid Riehn is a journalist specializing in film. She currently writes for the Argentine newspapers Página 12 and La Nación. She worked as an editor of the Spanish Service of the German news agency DPA for 17 years, for which she covered international festivals such as Berlin, Toronto, Cartagena, Mar del Plata and others. She has also written about culture and entertainment for the newspapers La Razón, Tiempo Argentino and the magazine Caras y Caretas.